European Union – maturitná téma (angličtina) (2)


 Téma: The European Union

 Predmet: Angličtina

 Zaslal(a): Sara



It is an economical and political union of 27 member states. It has 23 official languages. These european countries are working together to improve life for their citizens and to build a better company. Its aim is peace, properity and freedom.

It has become a major trading power and world leader. The basic six states are France, Italy, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourgh and Germany. Among the EU´s major accomplishments are single market, common trade and foreign policy.

In 1950 the french foreign minister Robert Schuman calld for European community. The Treaty of Mastrich i valid from the 1st of November 1993.


The euro

The euro is the single currency in several states of the EU. On the 1st of January 2002, the euro went into circulation in 12 member state. The EU set economic criteria to make the euro a stable currency. The bank of issue for the euro is the European Central Bank, located in Frankfurt in Germany. It has total control over all EU monetary policies.


EU and CZ

The biggest enlargement of the AU on the 1st of May 2004 brought in 10 countries including the Czech Republic.

The most important changes are:

Each Czech reident become a member of the EU.

Thw official documents are translated into Czech because Czech become an official language of the EU.

Czech students have the right to spend their whole studies at the EU´s universities.


The EU instutions

The EU Commission(výbor)- i tis the lead of executive power, it puts forward proposals for new laws. It represents the EU interests. It´s presidentis José Manuel Barroso.

The European Parliament- this is the legislative body, there are 785 members who are elected every 5 years from their home countries. They pass laws and the EU budget. Thu CZ will have 21 members of the EU Parliament. The EU can´t accept new members without the agreement of the European Parliament. It´s the only body of the EU, which is electes by citizens.

The main meetings are held in Strasbourg, others in Brussels. It elects the EU Ombudsman.

The Council of the EU(rada)- represents the governments of the individual member countries. The Presidency of the Council is shared by the member states.

The Council of Europe(rada)- It´s a political intergovernmental organisation. It represents 47 European pluralist democracies, with 5 observes. Its aims are to human rights, to consolidate democratic stability in Europe, to seek solutions to social problems and to promote and develop a European cultural identita. The total budget amounts to 404 milion, and is financed mainly by the member states.


The European Court of Justice – It´s the judical branch of the EU

The European Court of Auditors(evropský účetní dům)- It´s the financial auditor. It´s based in Luxembourg.

The European Central Bank- it is responsible for monetary policy in the countries that use the euro as their national courrency.


The symbols

The flag of the EU is composed of a circle of 12 gold stars on a blue background. ¨the number of stars is not related to the number states of the EU. Ti was created in 1955.

Th other symbol is the euro and its symbol and the motto: United in Diversity.

The anthem where the melody comes from the Ninth Symohony composed by Ludwig Van Beethoven.

The European day is celebrated on 9th May.

Aims and goals


The main goals of the European Union

Monetary Union-a single currency for Europe

Freedom of movement

Education developement

Peace keeping

Relaxed border check

Environmental care

More job oppornities


The 5 big aims the EU has set uot to do

  1. Promote economic and social progress.
  2. Speak for the European union on the international scene.
  3. Develop Europe as an area of freedom, security and justice.
  4. Maintain and build on established EU law.


 Stiahnuť prácu v PDF  Upozorniť na chybu


Ďalšie podobné materiály na webe:

Vložiť komentár